First recipe, Enjoy!

Some of you may not know I am a Muslim, so, there you go. And it is Ramadan.

This consists of an 18 hour fast, and then when you break your fast, you have to eat enough energy for the next day. Anyways, I really dislike eating too much because I hate going to bed with a full stomach!

This is a meal I prepared which is very nutritional, and if I do say so myself, it is also very delicious, it also stores well in case you want to eat the rest another day, I couldn’t finish it, so I kept some for later!

It contains

  • 1 Plantain
  • 1/8 Cabbage
  • 4 chili peppers
  • 4 Carrots
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Thyme
  • Curry Powder
  • Soy sauce
  • 6 cloves of garlic
  • 1 onion
  • Pre-cooked Meat, Chicken or fish. Whatever you prefer and if you are a vegetarian or a vegan, just don’t add the meat

The pictures are not very good and they are not edited either, so I apologize for that!

First, your cut your plantain up into four, like this :Image

and peel the skin. After you’ve done this, get a baking tray, cover it in tin foil and place the plantains on it like this: Image

after you’ve done that, get your herbs and spices ready. I chose black pepper, salt, curry powder and dried thyme, but you can chose any you like:Image

mix it all together and sprinkle it on each side of the plantain:Image

Next, the carrots:Image

you know what to do, peel it and then cut it up however you like.Image

I like the effortless circles. After this, wash the carrots and steam them how you normally steam veggies, I put them in a bowl, cover in cling film and put them in the microwave for about two minutes.

Whilst the carrots are steaming up, get your chilies out! I use four, well cause I’m African and we love the heat, but you can use less if you want.Imagechop up the chilies: Image

get your garlic and onions out, chop them up too: Image

split the garlic and onions in half, we are gonna use the rest later. After you do this put the steamed carrots in a bowl, add the rest of the spice mixture, remember? The salt, pepper, curry powder and thyme, add the chopped chilies, garlic and onions to the steamed carrot bowl, cover in cling film and shake it until you can see that the carrots and the spices are mixed. After this, pour the carrot mixture on the same baking tray as the plantain: Image

put this in the oven at gas mark 5 and keep checking until the plantains are brown/ golden brown. Mine took about 25-30 minutes.

Next, your cabbage thingy. get your cabbage out: Image

this one was pretty big, so I only used about an 1/8th of it, well I think its an eight, I’m rubbish with measurements. Cut up the cabbage and chop it up: Imageremember the rest of your garlic and onions? Yeah, you’re gonna need them now! okay so get a small pan and use a teaspoon of extra virgin olive oil, add the cabbage, the onions, the garlic. For flavour, add some salt and some black pepper and some soy sauce, not too much salt though. We do not want to be getting strokes.

When you feel that the cabbage is ready plate it up! Image

Remember the meat? I used grilled chicken, it was cold so I shredded it and warmed it up, I left that on the side and brought out the plantains and carrots from the oven:

Image

I’m really into layers right now, so I put the plantains on another plate and poured the carrots all over the cabbage: Image

and then I added my chicken on top of it: Image

as you can see in the picture, I added the plantain on top of it!Image

It might not look appealing, but I promise you, it was delicious, it also looks a bit tedious, but it only took about 35 minutes.

When I prepare meals, I like to think of the health benefits it has.

  1. The amount of chilies in this meal are good for fat burning, so after you’re back from the gym, this is a lovely meal to have.
  2. Plantains are very high in vitamins, and having baked them will maintain their health characteristics.
  3. There are 3 of your 5-a-day in this meal.
  4. It is very low in fat, the only fat in it is from the natural fats in the chicken I used and from the olive oil.

And lastly the meal is stupidly delicious.

4 thoughts on “First recipe, Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

